5-Minute Crafts
5-Minute Crafts

How to Watch Star Wars Movies In Order

Turns out, there is no one way of watching the entire Star Wars movie franchise on Disney+. If you would like to explore this George Lucas’ universe, you need to decide which order you prefer to watch them in. So, 5-Minute Crafts has listed a few spoiler-free ways on how you can explore this galaxy far, far, away.

1. Theatrical release order

2. Chronological order

Fun fact: Episodes IV, V, and VI of the Star Wars movie franchise are actually the second phase of the movie marathon, not the first. Meaning these movies were released the earliest, but they don’t narrate the beginning of the story.
Hence, if you’re interested in how everything began in this galaxy far, far, away, you may like watching in chronological order better based on when these movies are supposed to take place.

  • This sequence or order is only ideal for fans who wish to see the entire timeline from a different perspective. Not recommended for first-time watchers because you don’t want to miss the fun!

Your movie marathon in chronological order should look something like this:

  1. Star Wars: Episode I: The Phantom Menace
  2. Star Wars: Episode II: Attack of the Clones
  3. Star Wars: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
  4. Solo (optional)
  5. Rogue One (optional)
  6. Star Wars: Episode IV: A New Hope
  7. Star Wars: Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
  8. Star Wars: Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
  9. Star Wars: Episode VII: The Force Awakens
  10. Star Wars: Episode VIII: The Last Jedi
  11. Star Wars: Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker

3. Machete order

4. Complete Star Wars saga order

5. Disney’s narrative timeline

6. Star Wars Vintage collection

Depending on the country where you stream Disney+, you can also stream a lot of old-school Star Wars collections that are not a part of the mainstream timeline. Here are a few you can include in your marathoning:

  1. The Star Wars Holiday Special
  2. The Story of the Faithful Wookie
  3. Caravan of Courage
  4. Ewoks: The Battle for Endor
  5. Ewoks
  6. Star Wars: Droids (coming later this year)
  7. Star Wars: Clone Wars

Bonus: New releases and yet to be released

Seems like Disney won’t stop coming up with new Star Wars content to keep its fan amused. Here are a few titles that are newly released and a few yet to be released by Disney:

  1. Star Wars: A Droid Story: An animated movie that stars R2-D2 and C-3PO.
  2. The Acolyte: A story set way before The Phantom Menace.
  3. Ahsoka: This story takes place at the same time as The Mandalorian.
  4. Andor: A prequel to Rogue One.
  5. Lando: A movie about the smuggler who showed up during Solo.
  6. Obi-Wan Kenobi: This story is set 10 years after the Revenge of the Sith.
  7. The Rangers of the New Republic: One more spinoff of The Mandalorian.
  8. Star Wars: Rogue Squadron: Will be released on Christmas 2023.
  9. Star Wars: Visions: A series of animated shorts, possibly from a different timeline.

May the Force be with you, young Padawans!

5-Minute Crafts/World/How to Watch Star Wars Movies In Order
Share This Article